Davao City riders shine in mountain bike race

DAVAO City riders shone at the close of the Sikad sa Lupon road and mountain bike race held in Lupon town, Davao Oriental.

Bemedaled racer Ronnie Urdaneta, Batang Pinoy 2016 National Championship double gold medalist Myra Regina Acedo and Feliza Joy Abellana clinched titles in their respective categories.

Urdaneta annexed the mountain bike open elite title after recording a total time of one hour and eight minutes, 40 seconds ahead of his closest pursuer April John Maniyog of Kapalong to place second.

Jeff Dela Peña (1:11.00), Nathaniel Carisma (1:12.00) and Milven Layaog (1.17.00), however, landed on the next three places.

Acedo, for her part, was hailed as the female mountain bike champion with a total time of 1:32.00.

Abellana, meanwhile, checked in at 1:57.00 to rule the female road bike division.

Aldrin Awit, on the other hand, registered a total time of 1:30.00 to secure the road bike open elite division over Nathaniel Carisma (1:30.51), Orlando Sabijon (1:31.04), Glen Yap (1:31.06) and Carl Kopilov Dayaran (1:31.07), who occupied the next four places.

The road bike executive title was captured by Doz Gumela with a total time of 1:31.00 while David Erispe seized the mountain bike executive title with a 1:13.00 finish.