Maamo wins chess plum

VETERAN woodpusher Harison Maamo copped two titles at the close of the 12th APM Araw ng Davao Chess Tournament Sunday at the Damosa Market Basket in Lanang, Davao City.

Maamo earned 5.5 points in the six-round Swiss System format event to clinch the open rapid title over five-pointers Peter Tidoy, national master Macacuna Macala and Reynaldo Gempero (5.0) who occupied the next three spots.

Maamo took home P1,000 and a trophy while the next three winners got P500, P300 and P200.

Maamo also edged fellow 4.5-scorer Macala to secure the open blitz crown and the P700 champion purse.

Gempero, meanwhile, placed third with four points while Rodrigo Catayas (4.0) came fourth.

Maamo pocketed P700 while Macala, Gempero and Catayas had P500, P300 and P200, respectively.

Charlene Moulic, for her part, tallied 4.5 points to clinch the kiddies blitz title over Rodel Buenafe (4.0) and Jude Emmanuel Coraje (3.0).

Moulic claimed P200 while Buenafe and Coraje received P100 each.

Special awards were also given to Philgymn Villajuan (top junior), Honey Grace Buenafe (top female) James Catayas (top u12) and Lieane Faith Salajudin (top female u12).