DPWH-Davao Region rushes road repair for Ironman

THE regional office of the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) is rushing the repair of the Daang Maharlika highway in Davao del Norte as this is along the route of the upcoming Alveo Ironman 70.3 in Davao City on March 25 to ensure the safety of the participants.

DPWH-Davao Region chief information officer Dean Ortiz said Tuesday, March 13, that they are working on the roads that will be utilized for the triathlon race, which expects some 1,800 Filipino and foreign participants.

“We have already identified critical portions of Daang Maharlika that are due for immediate repair and ongoing widening and reblocking projects; will be fast-tracked and completed in time for race day,” he said.

Ortiz added that they also upgraded section of Bingcungan Bridge by then it shall have two to three lanes of newly-completed but cured pavements.

“The alternate routes pre-identified by the CTTMO (City Transport and Traffic Management Office) will likewise undergo maintenance works,” he said.

They will deploy quick response team composed of DPWH personnel in strategic locations during the day of the race to assist if there are eventualities concerning the roads.

Meanwhile, security preparations for the race are all set and thousands of security forces will be deployed in different areas to secure the welfare of participants.

The race will start with a one-loop swim at Azuela Cove in Lanang, Davao City where participants will go back for their first transition. Then they will exit to the highway for the fast, single loop bicycle ride all the way to the turnaround point in Tagum City.

They will pass through Panabo City and Carmen. They will head back to Azuela Cove for the second transition and exit on the flat roads of J.P. Laurel Avenue towards the commercial district to complete the two-loop run.

Some participants will come from the United Arab Emirates, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Switzerland, China, Germany, Spain, France, United Kingdom of Great Britain, Greece, Guam, Hong Kong, India, Italy, Japan, Monaco, Mexico, Qatar, Singapore, Taiwan, United States of America and Vietnam.