Padilla: Kafagway sports and Silahis ng pasko 2015 luminary awards on February 20

Nars Padilla

AS A fitting recognition for the most outstanding international and national athletes and sports leaders from the Cordillera Region as well as the core of organizations and individual volunteers who gave Silahis ng Pasko sa Baguio 2015 the much needed support and vigour to prosecute its series of activities to a very remarkable degree of success the award ceremonies for the twin special events will be held at the Silungan Center Social Hall, CSWDO office at Upper Session Road on February 20.

Divine Wally, who captured the best ever wushu-sanshou women’s gold medal by a Filipino warrior was unanimously chosen to lead the 30th anniversary edition of NCCB Kafagway Sports Luminary awardees. She will be presented the prestigious ‘Athlete of the Year 2015’ plum. The awardee is a college student from the University of the Cordilleras. On the other hand, Fred Puckeet, a veteran parbuster in the Annual Fil-Am International Golf Tournament held in the City every December will receive the ‘Athlete of the Decade’ trophy.

He has the top individual medalist and more often than not led his team to victory.

At least, three other wushu aces from the Cordilleras whose individual performance in several international wushu events last year place the country in the medal row will be cited ‘Wushu Players of the Year’. They are Ken Omengan, Spenser Bahod and Ton-ton Ensayod. Their highly commendable achievement together with other wushu sanshu players from other parts of the country contributed for the Wushu Federation of the Philippines as one of the major awardees in the Philippine Sports Writers Association national sports awards program to be held in Manila on Feb.13. The WFP CAR-Baguio chapter is also the most outstanding Sports Association in the forthcoming KSLA rites.

The honourees in the other sports discipline in the region are: Body builders Reynold and Leigh Domalsin; Meer Kareel Hongitan and Loren Childe Balaoing for archery; Jujeath Nagaowa-boxing(W); MMA fighters Kevin Belingon, Crisanto Pitpitunge and Gina Inciong; Marcelo Bautista and Sandi Menchi Abahan for ultra-marathon; and, Austin Kitan, Jaime Mangiriga and Augustina Bantiloc, PWD Olympian.

The KSLA committee is headed by yours truly with Roderick Osis, Sun.Star Baguio Editor, Harley Palangchao, Sr. Staffer Baguio Midland Courier and NCCB secretary general Primo Agatep of DZRH Manila.

Veteran wushu internationalist Daniel Parantac, who during the past years spearheaded the Wushu Philippine team to several gold medal finishes and turned to coaching last year was named ‘Coach of the Year 2015’. Arturo Alimbuyao of BCNHS will get the ‘Coach of the Decade’ medal.

UB’s top wood pusher who is hunting down his International Grand Master norm was cited as the most promising athlete of 2016 while Fernando eleponga, DepEd Baguio City PE supervisor will get the sportsman of the decade award. ABS-CBN Northern Luzon TV Patrol and several tri-media personalities will also be awarded.

The Silahis ng Pasko honor roll will include the Philippine Military Academy, AFP, Baguio City National High School Performing arts department, St. Louis Village housing Cooperative, BAMAPCOM, PHASES Learning Center, Baguio Gneral Hospital and Medical Center, the executive committee of the quest for the Lucky foreign visitors 2015, Baguio Balikbayan couple Bonnie and Jossie Delinela of Scout Barrio Barangay, CJH and retired US Navyman Angel Villaralvo and family and the program committee of the shrine of the Brown Madonna at KM 7 Asin Road.

Meanwhile the induction program for the newly elected officers of the Federation of Baguio Senior Citizens Associations Pinsao Proper Barangay will be held tomorrow. Betty Fangasan head officer of the City Social Welfare and Development Office will be the guest of honor. She will be introduced by yours truly as the outgoing president of the association, I served in the position for at least three terms.

The outgoing and incoming officers are: Nars Padilla-Kagaway Alice Smith; vice president, Dr. Lucio Victor, Sr. –Florencia Victor; Secretary- Florencia Victor-Sayud Palgue; treasurer-Juliest Gasmena; auditor-Joel Zarate-Conchita Calderon; business manager-Eugenia Marrero-Rosita Calado and P.R.O. Ponciano Obarro, replacement is still being considered.

Salient parts of the program which starts 2 in the afterboob include the opening prayer by Joel; Pambansang Awit to be led by Sayud and the singing of the Baguio Hymn. An intermission will be given by Joel while Mrs. Fangasan will be assisted by Pinsao Proper Punong barangay Raymund Lacsamana during the oath taking ceremony.

FABASCA president Edith Ibarra will also give a brief inspirational message. The closing word will be given by Kakawag Smith while the closing prayer will be offered by Virginia Subli. Lacsamana will also serve as the emcee of the program which will end with a fellowship merienda.

Finally I would like to thank all the officers and members of the association for supporting my humble leadership and myriad of activities during my presidency. God bless us all.