Outstanding students in CAR feted

TEN OUTSTANDING Students in the Cordillera Administrative Region (OSCAR) will represent the region in the national search for the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines.
The Oscar search is the regional level of the annual national TOSP award, which aims to give due recognition to students who can be held as role models for others, students who can exemplify academic excellence, leadership, good moral values, and determination to serve God and country.

The 10 Oscar finalist are Michelle Binwag, from Hungduan, Ifugao and a Cum Laude graduate of Bachelor of Elementary Education at Ifugao State University; Math and Science wizard Benelisa Dio-As from Kapangan, Benguet and a graduate of Bachelor of Secondary Education at University of the Cordilleras; Orly Primo from La Trinidad, Benguet and a graduate of Bachelor of Science in Hotel and Restaurant Management at Benguet State University; writer John Rick Pacas from Tabuk, Kalinga and a graduate of BSEd at Kalinga State University; Aimee Dapon from Aglipay, Quirino and a Magna Cum Laude of Bachelor of Science in Accountancy at Saint Louis University; BSEd Cum Laude Chantelaine Wansi from Kibungan, Benguet of BSU; Bachelor of Science in Business Management graduate Mary Grace Glorydelle Sayo of STI College Baguio; Bachelor of Science in Hospitality Management graduate Ryan Roy Bartolome of the University of the

Cordilleras; Bachelor of Science in Business Administration Summa Cum Laude Michael Manuel Dimalanta of SLU and Communication graduate Via Lou Perez of UC.

Other finalists were BEEd graduate at Abra State Institute of Science and Technology Valentine Agaloos from Pilar, Abra; BSHRM graduate at University of Baguio Mark Anthony Alvar from Baguio City; BSBA graduate at Kings College of the Philippines Aldrix Bolinto from Buguias, Benguet; Charlemagne Jones Calado, a dean’s lister for BSA at AMA Computer College-Baguio from La Trinidad, Benguet; Bachelor of Arts in Political Science graduate at Kalinga state University Kathleen Compas from Tabuk City; Bachelor of Science in Nutrition and Dietetics graduate at BSU Disney Dezyl Deponio from La Trinidad, Benguet; Leo Mar Ellema, graduate of BSEd at UB; Norielyn Mari, BSBA Magna cum Laude ate Kalinga State University from Tabuk City; Bachelor Of Science in Criminology Cum Laude graduate at Mountain Province State Polytechnic College Jessa Joy Reyla from Sagada Mt. Province; and Novella Tanas from Bakun Benguet, a graduate of BSC at Cordillera Career Development College.

Before the awarding ceremony, the finalists underwent a formation program at the Mt. Province State Polytechnic College-Tadian where various activities made them reflect on values and abilities contributory to nation building.

"The heart of the TOSP search is the formation program where they get to immerse with a community. Dito inaalis natin yung perception nila na this is a contest. It's collectively uniting the youth to participate in nation building," TOSP alumni community internal vice president Paul Joseph Noval told Sun*Star Baguio.

During the formation program, the TOSP's were taught to use their academic excellence, leadership, social responsibility and their values to participate in nation building.

"Inaalis namin sila sa perspektibo na isang kompetisyon, hinulma pa natin ang mga values na natutunan nila sa kanilang mga karanasan para maging epektibo silang mga leader for public service," Noval stated.